contact   site map  

CAP 2010
• Purpose and goals
• Important dates
• Programme
• Posters
• Extra meetings
• Registration form
• Fees
• Participants
• Support
• Conference Venue
• Practical information
• Accommodation
• History
• Social events
• SALT Tours
• Astronomy 101 courses
• First Announcement
• Second Announcement
• Third Announcement
• Mailing list
• Conference Photos
• Links
• Contact

Communicating Astronomy 101 Course/School 2010

Venue: S.A. Astronomical Observatory Auditorium, Cape Town, South Africa Date: 10 - 12 March 2010

One of the specific goals of CAP2010 is to create an IYA2009 legacy by actively promoting astronomy communication in the Developing World and this will feature throughout the meeting.

Linked to, but not directly part of CAP2010, will be an “Astronomy communication 101” school directed at participants from the Developing World. Selected conference participants will be invited speakers. This school will take place over 3 days from 10th to 12th March 2010, just before the main conference, at the South African Astronomical Observatory


Presentations Posters


Wednesday 10th March 2010

08:00    Registration
             - Proceed to registration desk in Foyer of the SAAO Auditorium building to collect school bag and name tag

Astronomy topics and methods to communicate them (short presentation on content followed by panel discussion/demonstration on methods):

09:00    Sun, Earth, Moon, Space Science
             - 35 min presentation by Dr. E. A. Olivier

10:30    Break

11:00    Sun, Earth, Moon, Space Science (continued)
             - 35 min presentation by Dr. N. S. Loaring

12:30    Lunch

13:30    Stars (life cycle, nebula, black holes, neutron stars)
             - 35 min presentation by Dr. E. A. Olivier

15:00    Break

15:30    Galaxies and Cosmology
             - 35 min presentation by Dr. N.S. Loaring

17:00    Supper

Astronomy Demonstration Practical:
19:00   Practical involving 10 astronomy related activities/demonstrations (these will be used on the Friday afternoon school excursion).

Thursday 11th March 2010

Astronomy topics and methods to communicate them (continued):

09:00    Indigenous knowledge (myths; legends; astrology; religion)
             - 35 min presentation on indigenous SA astronomy by Mr. T. Matomela

10:30   Break

11:00    Technology behind astronomy and space research
             - Presentation on space technology by Dr. P. Martinez
             - Presentation on telescope and astronomy technology by Dr. D. Buckley

12:30    Lunch

Using Technology to Communicate:

13:30    Useful software for communicating astronomy
             - Demonstration session with Mr. K. Govender

15:00    Break

15:30    Online tools and methods for communicating astronomy
             - Demonstration session with Dr. S. Barway

17:00    Supper

Stargazing Practical:
19:00    Using a telescope (stargazing with small portable telescopes) on SAAO grounds

Friday 12th March 2010

Communication Training:

09:00    Presentation skills
             - Interactive session with Prof. Anusuya Chinsamy-Turan

10:00    Break

10:30    Dealing with the media (dos and don’ts; preparing press releases)
             -Interactive session with experienced science journalists, Ms. E. Brits, Mr. G. Claassen and/or Ms. C. Scott

12:00   Implementation: Astronomy outreach session on the grounds of Isilimela High School in Langa, Cape Town. Bus leaves SAAO at 12:00 PM and return from school at 14:30 PM. Packed ligh lunches will be provided.

15:00    Break

Round up:

16:00   Creating and using networks (enhancing reach), consolidation and planning the way forward
            - Session with Mr. K. Govender.

17:00    Supper

Saturday 13th March 2010

Optional Tours: Visits to Iziko Planetarium and MTN Science Centre. Bus leaves SAAO at 9:30 and will return from MTN Science Centre at 14:30.

Attendance is free of charge but accommodation and transport are at participants’ own cost. Please note that the venue is different to that of the conference venue.

List of Participants

Last update: 05/02/2010

  1. Mr. Ricardo Adams
  2. Mr. Joshua Adjei-Kumi
  3. Mr. Saevar Helgi Bragason
  4. Mr. Theo Ferreira
  5. Ms. Ma. Antonieta Garcia
  6. Mr. John Goldsmith
  7. Ms. Kathryn Harris
  8. Ms. Janice Harvey
  9. Ms. Inge Heyer
  10. Dr. Edward Jurua
  11. Prof. Nejib Kharroubi
  12. Ms. Kechil Kirkham
  13. Ms. Anacletta Koloko
  14. Ms. Marissa Kotze
  15. Ms. Chen Chen Lau
  16. Ms. Daphne Lekgwathi
  17. Mr. Temba Matomela
  18. Mr. Francois Nsengiyumva
  19. Mr. Charles Obure
  20. Dr. Carolina Ödman
  21. Ms. Susan Murabona Oduori
  22. Mr. Geoffrey Okengo
  23. Dr. Nadeem Oozeer
  24. Mr. Abedigamba Oyirwoth, South African Astronomical Observatory
  25. Mr. Virgiliu Pop
  26. Mr. Case Rijsdijk
  27. Ms. Delia Santiago
  28. Mr. Prospery C. Simpemba
  29. Mr. Auke Slotegraaf
  30. Ms. Archana Soam
  31. Ms. Elsabe Uys
  32. Ms. Ruby Van Rooyen
  33. Mr. Jim Volp, Tetraverse
  34. Ms. Kosma von Maltitz
  35. Ms. Marion West